A Sight for Sore Eyes – A Sunday Photo Prompt Entry

Sunday Photo Fiction

It’s that time of the week again! Sunday Photo Prompt Time! Thanks Al! 😀

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly Flash Fictionprompt based on the photo supplied below. If you wish to take part, the idea is to write a piece of fiction of around 100-200 words (usually called flash fiction).

Once you have written your story, please click on the blue creature below to add your story to the list. If you see other people’s faces there, then take a peek at their story and pop them a like a bit of feedback. It’s always nice to hear what other people think of your stories.

Sunrise coming through the clouds. Of course, in your fiction, it could be absolutely anything

A Sight for Sore Eyes

I sat back as the sun broke through the horizon, and smiled in wonder as the world came alive with its presence.

Colourful birds sang in the trees, to greet the dawn, and I just stared at them, entranced by their beauty.

But, then my alarm went off. A horrible screeching sound that ripped me from the natural beauty into a world of darkness.

I reached out to turn the obnoxious thing off, and threw my feet out of bed, teasing the carpet with my toes to find my slippers.

Each morning I’d count the steps to my bedroom door, hands outstretched waiting for the wood to greet my palms.

That morning, up in the kitchen, I cursed, as my hands found no purchase within the bread bin. It meant a trek to the shops, and the mission of getting dressed.

Crossing the road near my house is dangerous with no green man to scream that it is ok to cross. But, no engines purred nearby so I took my first step.

Half way across the road, I tripped, and my stick flew out of my hand.

A simple trip was all it took, and the boy racer never saw me sprawled out on the ground, reaching for my lifeline.

It’s ok though. Don’t feel sorry for me.

Now I get to see that sunrise with my own two eyes.

If I’d have known, I may have tossed that stick aside sooner.

 

 

13 responses to “A Sight for Sore Eyes – A Sunday Photo Prompt Entry

What do you think?

