My World – Speakeasy #146

I am God here;

I pick and choose

who lives, who dies,

who’ll win or lose.

*

All is mine down to

the sea and its ships,

the Kings and their Queens,

the words on their lips.

*

I control what they say,

I control what they do,

I can pull on their strings

and they act on my cue.

*

But then my plans go awry,

and they escape far from me,

make choices that are not mine,

do things I could not foresee.

*

I call out, beg them to return,

they shout back words I do not know.

This is my game, they my players,

so how can they defy me so?

*

My star-crossed lovers have disappeared.

I search cloudy skies to grassy floor,

lift mountains, sack cities, empty seas.

Lost now, their story is mine no more.

*

I was wrong; I can’t control what they say,

I try, but I can’t control what they do,

I can’t weigh in to pick and choose their fate.

They have more spirit than I ever knew.

*

I find them at last, at the edge of my world,

They shrink back in fear from the God they defied.

I move slow, wanting them back inside my head,

They part to flee from me, and I must decide.

*

I must choose only one for I cannot chase both.

I choose the girl, as she is easier to track,

with her now in my grasp, he will have to return.

I sat there and waited, but he never came back.

world

28 responses to “My World – Speakeasy #146

  1. I saw Lala’s interpretation first, but realized the difference as I read on. Oh characters, you vex me with your stubborn insistence on not doing what I want! Great work!

  2. What great analysis you have here in this poem — like you said, a writer losing control of her characters. We’ve all been there! But I guess it is a good thing 🙂

    • Exactly, we don’t want them to be lifeless after all. Although I do feel mean, because I kind of turned out to be the antagonist of my own story, chasing them to the ends of the earth 😛

What do you think?

