Blinded – A Sunday Photo Prompt Entry

Sunday Photo Fiction

It’s that time of the week again! Sunday Photo Prompt Time! Thanks Al! 😀

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly Flash Fictionprompt based on the photo supplied below. If you wish to take part, the idea is to write a piece of fiction of around 100-200 words (usually called flash fiction).

Once you have written your story, please click on the blue creature below to add your story to the list. If you see other people’s faces there, then take a peek at their story and pop them a like a bit of feedback. It’s always nice to hear what other people think of your stories.

44 01 January 26th 2014

Blinding

I scrunched my eyes shut, but the light still blinded me, so I threw my arm across my face to block out the sun.

This light, this heat; it had come from nowhere.

Not that I was complaining. I hated being cooped up inside whilst the rain fell unrelenting from the heavens.

My mother loved it. It meant roaring fires, cosy homemade blankets, and sappy television.

Moving back home hadn’t been so bad. I got breakfast in bed sometimes, and there was never any need to go grocery shopping, as all the cupboards were fully stocked.

But, the weather here was awful. It made me feel more alone than I really was.

Sprawled out on the grass, I listened to the water gush alongside me, and felt the urge to dip my toes in, to relish the shocking cold in contrast to the sizzling sensation the sun left on my skin.

My hand reached out and grabbed a fistful of grass, having nothing else, and no one else to grab onto.

I pulled myself up and wandered over to the edge, where I sat and dangled my feet over. The froth danced around my legs, and I yelped as they made contact.

There was nothing and no one to grab onto when I fell.

 

get the InLinkz code

15 responses to “Blinded – A Sunday Photo Prompt Entry

  1. Saddest part is there was no one to catch her when she fell. Dipping your toes in the stream is much more fun when sharing it with someone. Lovely story. I enjoyed the ambiance of it.

What do you think?

