Stay – A Friday Fictioneers Entry

Copyright - Erin Leary

Stay

I extended my hand and caught a falling water drop with morbid curiosity. How could a tree cry when I could not? Looking up I saw the branches teaming with tears. What did a tree have to be sad about?

The sun was fighting a losing battle against the mist, which dampened all light and sound, and gave the park an eerie glow. It didn’t feel real. The soft mush sucked at my feet, begging me to stay. I wanted to.

I waded into the water, the pond scum sticking to my bare legs.

I would stay.

I wouldn’t go home.

Friday Fictioneers

THE CHALLENGE:

Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going a few words over the count.)

THE KEY:

Make every word count.

22 responses to “Stay – A Friday Fictioneers Entry

    • It is implied I think. Too many people are in bad places now where they feel there is no way out. This summer alone, the news was flooded with people losing themselves in rivers. It was horrible, but I think sometimes the best way to deal with things like that is to acknowledge that they happen, rather than turning a cheek.
      Thanks for commenting 😀

What do you think?

