The Forbidden Toy

As I look up, and up, my neck craning,

at dazzling lights and sparkling balls,

my inner desire I’m restraining,

as I wait patiently for one to fall.

Each night I lay dreaming of obtaining

my rightful prize; for now I’m abstaining.

As their footsteps approach, I turn away,

Not wanting my desperate gaze to betray.

Rushing, brushing against the tall fake tree,

they pull on their coats and they disappear.

Dislodged a ball comes flying down to me,

I lunge forward, plant my teeth around it.

Then I know why it‘s a forbidden toy;

the ball has smashed, there’s pain, then blood I spit.

Cats and Dogs

The Twelve Sonnets of Christmas

Day # 4

Dutch Sonnet 

This poetry form was presented by Dutch poet, Leny Roovers. It is a unique form in that it almost follows the Italian 8/6 pattern, but first it makes a statement with a sestet, and then pauses for thought with a couplet, and then, like the Italian, finishes with another sestet statement, but of a much different tempo.

Here is the pattern:


a. b. a. b. a. a. c. c. . . d. e. d. f. x. f.


Day # 1 – The Christmas Season

Day # 2 – A Chance Under the Misteltoe

Day # 3 – Christmas Alone

Day # 5 – A Mother’s Christmas

Day # 6 – The Occasional Invasion

Day # 7 – The Seasonal Trend

Day # 8 – The Nutcracker

Day # 9 – Naughty or Nice

Day # 10 – Something more

Day # 11 – The Nativity

Day # 12 – The Man in Red Silk

11 responses to “The Forbidden Toy

  1. Pingback: The Man in Red Silk | Kerrie Ann Salsac | Writing for Life·

What do you think?

