Caged

38-12-december-15th-2013

Taken in 2005 at Port Lympne Wildlife Park

Caged

His big brown eyes locked with mine. Pain was barely concealed in their depths, and they swam with the tears unable to break free. He looked so strong, so powerful, and yet here he was, trapped.

I splayed my hand against the glass, and he went wild. Fangs flashed and giant fists beat against his chest. I didn’t move. I sympathised with his rage.

Children were pointing at him, laughing and squealing at the show. I wanted to snap at them, to scatter the bullying crowd, who were now smacking their sticky palms on the glass, antagonizing the poor creature.

A hand gripped my upper arm, tightly. I winced, but tried to hide the pain from my face. Looking round and up, I saw his gorgeous face looking down at me, a scowl marring his otherwise perfect features. He let the tiniest hint of a growl escape his lips, as he squeezed until his knuckles turned white.

It was a challenge. I failed.

The pain grew too much; I yelped. He smiled. He had won. He turned and left, dragging me behind him. I threw one last desperate look at the caged animal, and wished that I could trade places with him.

Sunday Photo Fiction

Sunday Photo Fiction is a weekly Flash Fiction prompt based on the photo supplied below. If you wish to take part, the idea is to write a piece of fiction of around 100-200 words (usually called flash fiction). You can participate here.

19 responses to “Caged

  1. Seems the wrong ape was behind the glass and bars… Great take on this prompt. You intruduced the animals, and then pulled the story in an entirely different direction. (no pun intended)

What do you think?

