Superstitious Luck

Friday the thirteenth,
a day filled with dread.
Bad luck everywhere,
I’ll stay home instead.

Yet waking this morn,
a magpie I saw
outside the window.
This no one foresaw.

Just the one magpie
all on its own there.
Closing the curtains,
I thought, “Do I dare?”

Whilst painting my face,
the mirror did crack.
I sat there alarmed.
This day did look black.

I gave up all hope,
and went down the stairs,
where a small black cat
gave me quite the scare.

Could the day get worse?
Yes; I spilt the salt,
walked under ladders,
but its not my fault!

Across at the store,
I thought, “What the hell!”
Taking my chances
on what they did sell.

Scratch cards and tickets?
I had just gone mad!
With all my bad luck,
I knew this was bad.

But lo and behold,
I won tons instead!
Friday the thirteenth,
a day filled with dread?

13

What do you think?

