The Astronomer

A chill creeps across my skin,

I wrap my scarf up round my chin,

I press my eye against the lens,

gently the contraption spins,

and though I shiver, still I grin.

*

The white snow is still descending,

this cold weather is unrelenting,

ice coating the slick dark ground,

whilst in here I’m experimenting

with a universe that is unending.

*

Teeth chattering uncontrollably,

whilst I sit exploring cosmology,

for I’m no fair weather astronomer

braving the biting frost, woefully

I cling on to hope, though hopelessly.

*

A shooting star streaks on past,

a celestial beauty, not made to last,

here one minute gone the next,

it comes and goes far too fast,

I need something that will last!

220px-LH_95

What do you think?

