Footprints in the Sand

The
wind blowing
all around, whipping
sand grains up into the air.
As I squint my eyes,
I can’t see
you.
I panic,
turn to look behind
and see our footprints scattered
here, there, everywhere,
together,
apart.
We
may have not
always been as one,
but now as the storm appears
I need you to guide 
my footsteps,
side by
side,
we can
survive this.
We can make it through,
and get to our peaceful cove
where we will look back
at footprints
in the
sand.

FootprintsInTheSand

What do you think?

