A Mere Witness

Time is my enemy
it passes by in leaps and bounds,
my life essentially
a long movie with surround sound.
I look on, powerless,
wondering if I get a say.
My feelings, I repress,
knowing that time will always stray.

A mere witness, an extra in the show,
scenes flying past, flying too fast to know.

Years and years go on by,
I look behind only to find
a life to mortify,
a life unlived, a life resigned.
Instead of counting time
I should have lived every second
whilst I was in my prime.
But for now my bed has beckoned.

images-1

2 responses to “A Mere Witness

What do you think?

