My Piano and Me

taste iron as I swallow hard,
nerves making me grind my teeth together.
There’s a faceless crowd, swamped in darkness, waiting.
Shut them out? Forget them? A hopeless endeavor.

I sit and smell freshly polished wood.
I inhale that heavenly, calming scent
as I feel all my stage fright flutter away.
I no longer feel the subject of an event.

I set my fingers down on the keys,
feel their smooth texture underneath my skin,
giving under the small pressure of a touch,
sending vibrations down to my soul, deep within.

A single note plays for all to hear.
But I don’t think of them, I think of pitch,
the perfect pitch and the perfect note, blending
into the other. A magical sound, so rich.

I close my eyes but yet still I see.
I see colours; bright colourful explosions!
Here, the sound alone, it paints a masterpiece,
taking me through such a spectrum of emotions.

So I do not need the faceless crowd,
because I can tastesmelltouchhear and see
what was just before mere black marks on paper.
I know now what I need: My Piano and Me.

 

PIANO-FINGERS

What do you think?

