Sweltering Santa

Red velvet and cotton wool,

black plastic and thick leather.

Melting in this damned suit,

cursing this damned weather.

 

Looking at the pool glistening

as the children splash and play,

bitterness sweeping through me;

playing Santa for such low pay.

 

So whose bright idea was it,

to hire Santa in this heat?

Yet here I sit, melting away,

broke, I must admit defeat.

 

As children swarm all around,

as sweat trickles down my back,

I grit my teeth, Ho Ho Ho,

pulling toys out from my sack.

BeachSanta460

What do you think?

