Block

I stare at the empty, blank page.

I’m wracking my brain for ideas,

I need inspiration to strike.

The countdown is moving too fast

as I struggle to keep the pace

and get left lagging far behind.

 

A writer’s nightmare; the dreaded Block.

 

I could search for some writing prompts,

is that cheating or encouraged?

I could write more of what’s been before,

but I want my writing unique.

I could throw in the towel, give up,

if I leave now will they notice?

I could scream, fling my laptop,

but what if an idea arrives?

 

A writer’s nightmare; the dreaded Block.

 

No, I will power on through

to exceed all expectations.

My target will be reached in time,

in fact I will race on past it.

You will not hold me back tonight,

I set my fingers down and write.

 

A writer’s nightmare; the dreaded Block.

 

What do you think?

