Dog’s Best Friend

As I sit in the house all on my own

I think of how much we both have grown.

I know now that you will come back to me

and you will rub my ears and feed me treats.

*

From the very first day you always knew

I will always be here to welcome you.

I may not rush to meet you like I should,

but you need to know if I could I would.

*

When we walk in the park I tire quick,

I no longer chase after toys and sticks.

But as we sit and rest amongst the trees

there’s no other place I would rather be.

*

I may be old, but it’s just wear and tear,

I sit comfy knowing you’re always there.

You tell me your stories, your highs your lows.

Your secrets are safe, no one needs to know.

*

You always care for me in every way,

Just know that I love you more every day.

 

3 responses to “Dog’s Best Friend

  1. This was a poem for the Writers Cramp Contest that provides you with a prompt and 24 hours. It’s not specifically about my dog Molly because she still does bound towards the front door whenever you come home but I love these pictures of her so decided to use them.

What do you think?

